Concealed Handgun Permit Information

Where to get your Permit

An Applicant shall complete the permit application form and return it, in person, to the Sheriff of County in which the applicant resides, maintained secondary residence, owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business, or the Sheriff that previously issued a permit to the Applicant.

Call your local Sheriff’s Office for more information.

COST

Bent County

$52.50 for CBI Background Check 

$100.00 Bent County processing fee, fingerprinting and card printing.

Checks made payable to the Bent County Sheriff’s Office. 

Bent County

Renewal 

$13.00 for CBI Background Check 

$12.00 Bent County processing fee, card printing.

Total: $25.00

Checks made payable to the Bent County Sheriff’s Office. 

Requirements

County Sheriff’s Of Colorado, Concealed Handgun Permit Application. 

$152.50 check made payable to the Bent County Sheriff’s Office.

Proof of residency 

Documentary evidence of concealed weapon class. (SEE TRAINING BELOW)

Two completed fingerprint cards.

Bent County Sheriff's Office
Concealed Handgun Course

The Bent County Sheriff’s Office offers a Concealed Handgun course several times a year. The class is Two hours and costs $50.00, all proceeds go to the Bent County Sheriff’s Posse. 

The class does not require shooting or include range time. It specifically goes over laws, regulations and best practices pertaining to concealed carry.  

The class meets all requirements of Colorado State Law and is presented by Bent County Sheriff’s Office POST certified Firearms Instructors.

If you are interested in attending this course please click the register button.

Bent County

$52.50 for CBI Background Check 

$100.00 Bent County processing fee, fingerprinting and card printing.

Checks made payable to the Bent County Sheriff’s Office. 

Registration is not required to attend the class, you may just show up and attend. Register persons will receive their certificates the day of the class, unregistered attendees will receive the certificate a week to ten days following the class.

If you have trouble registering please call the Sheriff’s Office 719-456-1363 ext 201

Bent County

$52.50 for CBI Background Check 

$100.00 Bent County processing fee, fingerprinting and card printing.

Checks made payable to the Bent County Sheriff’s Office. 

Accepted Firearms Classes

Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service. 

Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified Instructor.

Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United State Armed Forces within the three years preceding submittal of the application.

Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed forces that reflects pistol qualification obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application.

A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforement Agency that reflects pistol qualification obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application.

A training certificate from a handgun training course with a certified Instructor.